We Are Pussy Riot, or Everything is PR

by Barbara Hammond


In February 2012, five young women walked into a church in the center of Moscow and offered up a punk prayer – “Virgin Mary, Chase Putin Away!” That night they uploaded a video of their performance to YouTube, and within hours became enemies of both Church and State. The girls were arrested, tried, and sent to labor camps for hooliganism and inciting religious hatred, but once the Western media machine took hold of the story Pussy Riot was turned into the greatest piece of performance art in Russian history. This is their story.

Event Information

  • September 25-30 @ 7:30pm
    September 30 @ 1:00pm
     Black Box Theatre

  • Warning
    Content Rating of 18+

Dramaturgy Note

In the trial's closing statements, Nadya said, "By and large, the three members of Pussy Riot are not the ones on trial here. If we were, this event would hardly be so significant. This is a trial of the entire political system of the Russian Federation, which, to its great misfortune, enjoys quoting its own cruelty toward the individual, its indifference toward human honor and dignity, repeating all of the worst moments of Russian history." In our play, you'll hear very little of Nadya, Masha, and Katya's closing statements. But we invite you to read all of their words.

Special Thanks

Malia Wessel, USU Costume Shop, Hometown Values Magazine

Role First Name Last Name Position
Reporter/ PR Member/ US Katya Megan Bedell Actor
Nadya Brooklyn Bullard Actor
Security 1/ Russian Language Prof/ Guard/ PR Member Ollie Chieppa Actor
Prosecutor/ PR Member/ US Masha Megan Christiansen Actor
Doctor/ PR Member Linn Eggett Actor
Katya Brynn Francis Actor
Patriarch/ Cossack/ Russian TV Host/ US Sergei Mason Garcia Actor
Defense/ PR Member/ US Nadya Tori Ludlow Actor
Understudy Jayke Martin Actor
Sergei Timo Rasmussen Actor
Putin/ Pyotr Ethan Shaw Actor
Understudy Dakota Sanches Actor
Devout Woman/ Madonna/ Marilyn Monroe Berkli Smith Actor
Security 2/ British Feminist Lecturer/ Lieutenant/ PR Member Willoughby Staley Actor
Judge/ Anna P./ PR Member Elizabeth Thornton Actor
Masha Ariana Whatcott Actor
Director Amanda Dawson Production Staff
Asst. Director Rachel Tillotson Production Staff
Stage Manager Brighton  McDonald Production Staff
Asst. Stage Manager Dylan Seeley Production Staff
Dialect Coach Paul Mitri Production Staff
Dramaturg Mac Minshew Production Staff
Lighting Carter Lee Designer Designer
Master Electrician Joshua Legate Production Staff
Scenic Audrey Kearl Designer Designer
Scenic Charge Gray Harding Production Staff
Marketing  Jason Spelbring Marketing
Social Media Manager Emily Heap Marketing
Social Media Fellow Emma Lovan Marketing
Graphic Design Bynne McMurray Marketing
Photographer Lucas Bybee Marketing
Light Board Op Lyss Butler Run Crew
Sound Board Op Drake Murdock Run Crew
Interim Department Head Richie Call Faculty/ Staff
Associate Dean, Head of Acting Leslie Brott Faculty/ Staff
Program Coordinator LuAnn Baker Faculty/ Staff
Technical Director/ Production Manager Amy Critchfield Faculty/ Staff
Dramaturgy Advisor, Head of Theatre Education Amanda Dawson Faculty/ Staff
Graduate Advisor, Head of Scenic Design Dennis Hassan Faculty/ Staff
Production Stage Manager Kelsey Koga Faculty/ Staff
Interim Head of Tech and Design Joshua Legate Faculty/ Staff

Land Acknowledgement

As a land-grant institution, Utah State University campuses and centers reside and operate on the territories of the eight tribes of Utah, who have been living, working, and residing on this land from time immemorial. These tribes are the Confederated Tribes of the Goshute Indians, Navajo Nation, Ute Indian Tribe, Northwestern Band of Shoshone, Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah, San Juan Southern Paiute, Skull Valley Band of Goshute, and White Mesa Band of the Ute Mountain Ute. We acknowledge these lands carry the stories of these Nations and their struggles for survival and identity. We recognize Elders past and present as peoples who have cared for, and continue to care for, the land. In offering this land acknowledgment, we affirm Indigenous self-governance history, experiences, and resiliency of the Native people who are still here today.