History of the Wassermann Piano Series

The Wassermann Piano Series is an annual piano series hosted by the Caine College of the Arts at Utah State University. Founded in 1980 by Irving Wassermann as the Wassermann Festival, the series has featured acclaimed soloists such as Krystian Zimerman, Sergey Babayan, Daniil Trifonov, the Brad Mehldau Trio, Stephen Hough, Marc-André Hamelin, and Yundi Li. The exceptional setting of our series in the picturesque Cache Valley combined with the world-class Russell/Wanlass Performance Hall at the Caine College of the Arts at Utah State University make the Wassermann Piano Series a major arts event each year.

Alongside presenting world-class performing artists, we are committed to the late Irving Wassermann’s vision of maximizing the educational impact these artists have on aspiring music students. For all Wassermann guest artists, USU students will enjoy the unique opportunity to work closely with the artists in inspiring masterclasses free and open to the public.